Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
myback_garden

New to This Forum

myback_garden
19 years ago

Hello to all...I have been searching for Ornamental Grasses that would be suitable for Zone 6b.(Not Having much Luck) I am not familiar with grasses at all and any suggestions that might work for me would be appreciated. I am wanting to plant them in a space about 25' long and about 5 feet wide(can make the width larger)..it is very sunny for most of the day. Thanks So Much

I just wanted to say as well.. I am not good at gardening but am trying to learn :)

Comments (18)

• donn_
    19 years ago

Myback...you should have no trouble, at all, finding grasses for your zone, and you don't have to be a gardener to grow them. Spend some time at Bluestem, linked below. He specializes in grasses (and willows) for cold climates, and his website is chock-full of info and pics.

Here is a link that might be useful: Bluestem

• myback_garden
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks Donn: I had searched and somehow never came up with Bluestem...Thanks So Much..I had a quick peek this morning..and have seen some grasses I would love to have..:)

• PollyNY
    19 years ago

Myback, welcome!! Just pick some you like and go for it. Grasses are very easy to grow. You can have a wonderful looking garden from just a few varieties of Miscanthus (almost all of which are hardy for you) Since your area is large, even though not wide, how about going for some 'oomph' and put in Miscanthus 'Giganteus'. Ours was 14 foot tall last year. Of course, there are so many other grasses too. Are you going to have just grasses. or other perennials? Do post some pictures when you are done. Polly

• Skybird - z5, Denver, Colorado
    19 years ago

Hi Myback Garden,

For something blue, check out Panicum virgatum 'Heavy Metal'. It's really cool! And definitely put in a couple perennials. In a couple months you'll be hooked!

Welcome to the world of grasses, and, hopefully, perennials,
    Skybird