Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_129235

Question about a new bed for grasses

Boopadaboo
18 years ago

I am new to Ornamental Grasses and to gardening in general - Only been at it about a year. I am really drawn to grasses. I never would have thought it - but there you go.

I am planning on starting a new bed specifically for grasses along my driveway. It is a rather large area - probably about 15x45. Right now there is a lawn there with woods behind it. New houses have been built and I would like to "stake my claim" to my border since it is a strange situation. the lawn area is really about 30x45 however the new houses own about 15 ft of the lawn on the other side of the thin woods.

Anyway I have a few questions for those with more experience if you would be so kind!

Creating the new bed - I am assuming this thing i just read about - Lasagna beds would not be a good idea. Is that true?

I read in this forum that it is not a good idea to ammend the soil. I was planning on doing this. Should I just remove the sod and plant? Should I till first even if I am not adding to the soil?

Do most of you mix perrenials in with your grass beds? Is it OK to mulch around the plants with bark mulch?

I am sure I will have more questions but i don't want to ask too many to start out with! if I do a mock up of the bed is that something that the experts here would comment on for me?

Thanks so much.

Comments (6)

• Pudge 2b
    18 years ago