Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stillwelljill

Question about Pink Muhly Grass

stillwelljill
14 years ago

My pink muhly is barely showing signs of life. I have only 2 pieces of tall green grass blades showing above the dead grass (which I cut back in April). Is this normal or is it early in Zone 7 for this grass to be emerging robustly?

I purchased this 3 gal. grass last summer. It did very well throughout the summer and fall with beautiful pink plumes in late summer and fall. We had a fairly normal mild winter in our area just north of Atlanta.

I am new to ornamental grasses. Thanks for any help from gardeners with experience with this kind of grass.

Comments (3)

• donn_
    14 years ago

About all you can do is wait to see if it comes back. The fact there are some signs of growth are a positive, because if it was completely dead, there would be none (if the two blades are Muhly).

It's not easy to generalize about when warm season grasses will spring into growth. I have lots of them, and even within the same cultivar, some start earlier or later than others. There are so many variables, like sun exposure, available moisture and other micro-climate issues, which come into play, they all just move at their own speed.

• stillwelljill
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Donn
    Is pink muhly questionable for my zone? I am just north of Atlanta GA. Just curious as to why there may have been a problem with it this year. If I only get a sprig or two that come up, how should I deal with it? There is a large area that is just dead short stiff grass from the previous season. I won't do anything for some time just to see what happens but lets just say those few blades are all that come back, what will I do? Much thanks.

• donn_
    14 years ago

If the two blades are indeed Muhly, chances are good more will follow. If, however, they are some other grass which has self-sown into the clump, then they mean nothing.