Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimwary1

please help, is my pampas grass dead?

kimwary1
9 years ago

I'm trying for a low, low maintenence landscape in our back yard. 3 years ago we planted 7 pampas plants around the back of our above ground pool. Last summer, they were big and beautiful (photo 1). I cut them down (not too severe, I had a hard time, it was like cutting bamboo) After this rough winter, this is what they look like now. Are they dead? If not what do I do? I do not have a green thumb. :(

Comments (23)

• kimwary1
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This is what each plant looked like last August. We live in Rogers, AR (the very NW corner)

• donn_
    9 years ago

I'd say winter killed your Pampas Grass. You are in hardiness zone 6b, and most Pampas Grass is limited to zone 8 and warmer.

• casagrande
    9 years ago

hello. I am new to this grass also but I don't think your grass is dead. It will come back, that is just what they look like at winters end. I didn't know these grasses were only good to zone 8. I am in zone 7 and I see these grasses everywhere here in my area.

• river_city
    9 years ago

My pampas grasses are just starting to fill in - open up those clumps and see if there are any green stalks growing from within.

• christine1950
    9 years ago

I agree with river city, clear away all that dead stuff and let the new growth see some sun shine !!

• casagrande
    9 years ago

gardengal48......that is what pampas grass looks like at the end of winter here in my area of nc..........most everyone has one in their yard and they are all brown and dead looking until spring.....some people burn them and some people cut them.

• casagrande
    9 years ago

kimwary1............can you give us all an update on your grasses. have they started to grow?

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    9 years ago

This is what pampas grass should look like in winter: