Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jchung_gw

Liriope Gone Wild! - How to remove?

jchung
12 years ago

I bought my current house a couple years ago and the previous owner had planted liriope as edging. At the time I didn't know what it was, so I didn't cut them back. I noticed that the liriope was sprouting in different parts of the mulch beds, well outside of their clumps which made it look very messy.

Earlier this year, I decided I wanted to pull out the liriope and replace it with something else, so my GF and I dug up all the bunches over a couple weekends.

My problem now is that I still see the liriope sprouting up around the edges of my lawn and at different parts of the mulch bed. I've been picking them by hand every couple days for about the past two months.

Whats the best way to get rid of the liriope? I'd like to get it cleaned up before I put something else in.

In case its not obvious, I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to lawns and gardening.

thanks!

Joo

Comments (11)

• donn_
    12 years ago

Joo..short of using some obnoxious herbicide, you're doing all you can do. Instead of "picking" sprouts, take a shovel with you and dig down and around each sprout. Holding the dug clump over a colander, carefully separate the roots of the sprout from the soil. Throw the roots away, not in a compost pile.

• cactusgarden
    12 years ago