Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buyorsell888

Sale at Santa Rosa Gardens, lots of grasses

buyorsell888
12 years ago

I just placed an order last week at full price and now have to order again.....

Here is a link that might be useful: Santa Rosa Gardens

Comments (24)

• donn_
    12 years ago

Drool time!

• grassboro
    12 years ago

I have question about the size of the grasses offered at Santa Rosa. This is my first year growing grasses so I am a bit ignorant about growth expectations. I have a garden area I planted this year and was thinking of seeing what it looks like for a whole season before I decide what to add and subtract from it. How large would these 4x4 plants be if I planted some in a holding area and then transplanted them next spring to a permanent area.
    These prices seem very good if I know what my expectations should be. The selection is definitely better than I can find locally.

• donn_
    12 years ago

It will vary a great deal from grass to grass.

First, the plants will arrive in 4" grower's pots, which are really 3.5" square by about 3" deep. Some of them will be small plugs, 32-38 size, only recently moved from their liners to the pots. Others will have been in the pots for some time, and will even be pot-bound. The above-ground foliage will range from sparse and thin to tall and full. It depends greatly upon the variety of grass and how long they have been out of the liner and in the pot.

I generally either plant mine in nursery beds or pot them up to trade gallons, where they will spend from 1-3 full growing seasons before being planted out in display beds. Grasses tend to follow the same rule most perennials do:

First year they sleep.
    Second year they creep.
    Third year they leap.