Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mikaela_gw

non-invasive grasses

mikaela
17 years ago

Hi. I hope I am not repeating a million threads here. I looked through the first 3 pages and didn't see anything. I am new to growing grasses. I live in SD in zone 4. I am wondering if all grasses are invasive or if not, are there some good grasses to try here? I would like to have a few different plants for the border by my driveway near a pond that we are going to put in. I thought that I might have some wildflowers like echinacea with them. Any suggestions?

Comments (6)

• donn_
    17 years ago

Very few ornamental grasses would be invasive in your climate, because most of them won't have a long enough growing season to set and ripen viable seed.

For lots of good ideas, check out Bluestem's website linked below. They specialize in ornamental grasses for cold climates, and have a very informative website.

Here is a link that might be useful: Bluestem

• mikaela
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thank you. That website is awesome!

• dawgie
    17 years ago

I shied away from ornamental grasses for years because I thought they were all invasive. Not. Many OGs are clumping forms that are very well mannered. I've had no problems with various Miscanthus varieties (Adagio, Morning Light, Little Kitten), Blue fescue, Blue oat grass, Carex elata (Bowle's golden sedge), Muhly (Muhlenbergia capillaris), Hakone grass.

I am growing Prairie dropseed, which should grow well in your area, for the first time this summer. It is also a clumping grass, so shouldn't be invasive.

I've had moderate problems with River Oats (Chasmantium latifolium), which reseeds heavily. Moudry Fountain Grass is also known reseeding, but I cut off the seed heads to prevent that. Tried that with my river oats, as well, but apparently didn't do it soon enough because I've had tons of little seedlings popping up this year.

• Pudge 2b
    17 years ago