Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
knottyceltic

Variegated Reed grass vs. Ribbon Grass

knottyceltic
18 years ago

I'm totally new to ornamental grasses and picked up a pot of 'something' at a perennial yard sale. My dad said it's "Ribbon Grass" and get rid of it b/c I have very small gardens but to me it looks more like Variegated Reed Grass. Can anyone tell me if there is a way to tell the difference between the two or if their seed heads will look different. Are both of them invasive? When I planted it, it looked pathetic, about 4 leaf stalks sticking up and then flopping onto the dirt. One month later it is about 6+ inches across the base of the "bunch" and looking EXTREMELY healthy which makes me think maybe my dad is right. I can post a picture soon but if anyone can give me any tips on telling the two apart, that would be great.

Thanks,

Barb

Comments (11)

• Tree_Frog
    18 years ago

Phalaris (ribbon grass) grows 3-4' high and has leaves that are maybe 0.5" wide.

Arundo donax 'Variegata' (variegated reed) grows 10-20' high and has leaves that are 1.5-2' wide.

Other than the fact that they are vaguely similar in color, it would be difficult to confuse them. It's like comparing a mouse and a moose.

• well_rooted
    18 years ago

I am guessing that the Variegated Reed grass you are referring to is Calamagrostis 'Overdam' or 'Avalanche'.

The Phalaris (ribbon grass) spreads underground. Pull up some of the outside leaves and see how they connect to the parent. If you can't pull them up because they are too close, then its probably the nicely behaved Calamagrostis. If you can tell its a traveller, then you have the very poorly behaved ribbon grass.

Also, I think that ribbon grass is more white than green and the Calamagrostis 'Overdam' is more green than white.

Phalaris started blooming awhile ago and the tips of the leaves are often pink.

The blooms of Calamagrostis are just starting to push their way up out of the foliage.