Return to the Ornamental Grasses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Companion plants for Panicum Dallas Blues

Posted by sage_lover z6 OH (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 23, 05 at 21:45

I have 5 Dallas Blues & will likely add 3 more to make a better massing. The soil is ok top 4" but construction compacted below. Needs to be a fairly tough plant!

Spirea "Goldflame" is my choice at the moment, but would very much appreciate any ideas anyone could offer. Due to exsisting trees, deep tilling is not an option.

Have no experience with Dallas Blues so not sure what to expect. Planted them about 4 weeks ago and am LIKING what I am seeing!!! It seems to be a grass worth checking out if you have not done so. I have been told that it does not self seed like other Panicums do also.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Companion plants for Panicum Dallas Blues

Dallas Blues is one of my favorite Panicums. I haven't had it reseed at all since I have been growing it for the last two years. I have placed it with other grasses, like Muhlenbergia capillaris Regal Mist, Muhlenbergia japonica variegata, Eragrostis spectabilis and so on.

o

A neighbor planted three 'Dallas Blues' with blackberry lily in full sun. At the end of the season, the seed heads on the blackberry lily looked stunning next to the 'Dallas Blues.' One of the best fall combinations I've ever seen.

Rhoda

o

I am not familiar with blackberry lily, but will look into it. Is there another name for this lily? Do not tease me with words like, "stunning", and, "one of the best fall combinations I've seen!" I must know more!!! What would you say made it a great fall combo?

Thank you, & Agastache above for responding to my question, btw!

o

Dallas Blues looks great beside sedum 'Autumn Joy'. Another combination has it beside nine bark 'Diablo'

o