Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
albert_135

What is the best season to move or transplant?

I a couple of six inch clumps of some unidentified ornamental grass that I would like to move to a different part of the landscape. Is there a preferred season for moving small clumps of unidentified grass?

Comments (6)

• donn_
    12 years ago

In your zone, I'd suggest Spring would be the best season to move or plant grasses. Some cool season grasses may be able to establish their root systems quickly enough to handle an early Fall move, but unless we can ID your plants, it would be safer to wait for Spring

• kerry1111
    12 years ago

Hi I am new to gardening and I have two miscanthus cosmopolitans that I bought at a local plant sale in may. I put them in fairly large pots with garden soil and some of my compost..they have grown a little but not as much as I thought they would..one is fairly filled out the grass maybe a foot long, the other same length not as filled out..i would like to transplant them into a flower bed in the front of my house, but I have a couple of concerns.. 1. is it ok to transplant them now or in the fall ( i live in boston ma ) 2. I'm not sure of the quality of the soil where I am putting this flower bed any suggestions on what to add to my regular soil, what does this plant require for soil Thanks so much for any response it would be so helpful to a newbie!

• donn_
    12 years ago

Garden soil, even good amended garden soil, is never a good choice for potting media. It does not drain well and is not porous enough to provide adequate aeration for root growth. This is why you haven't seen much growth.