Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donn_

Anyone growing grasses from plugs?

donn_
17 years ago

Someone on Dave's Garden is doing a co-op buy on ornamental grass plugs, and I popped for 29 plugs:

7 Acorus gramineus 'Minimus Aureus'(I know, it isn't a grass, but close enough)

2 Calamagrostis x acutiflora 'Avalanche'

2 Carex morrowii 'Ice Dance'

7 Imperata cylindrica 'Red Baron'

7 Miscanthus sinensis 'Malepartus'

4 Muhlenbergia capillaris

The plug sizes are 32, 36 and 50.

I've never done this before, but I suspect it's essentially the same process as the clumps of grass I start from seed.

I intend to pot them up when they get here, and then plant them out in early fall, into nursery beds.

Any advice appreciated.

Comments (20)

• grasses2
    17 years ago

I've done it for years.

I only lost a few in the last three years. Last year I planted 332 plugs (trays of 36) and was pleased to find all but 7 made it through the winter.

I planted them in late September which was very late for me to get them in the ground. Although I was worried about the "warm grasses" which didnÂt spring to life early this year, everything looks good again.

A number of them have found new homes since June!

If you go to the web site, all of the nursery grasses were from plugs. Today they are 4'+ and some are going to go to six feet this year.

You should do well.

Here is a link that might be useful: Grasses & Gargoyles

• donn_
    Original Author
    17 years ago

The 'nursery' looks great, Gej, but I'd love to see some pics of it now. If it's like my grass nursery beds were, it's gotten more crowded. I was still planting out seed-grown grass clumps in November last year, and most survived, but now I've had to dig and pot many of them. Their display beds aren't ready yet. I grew several hundred new ones last year, and a few hundred this year. It's time to concentrate on the beds, and stop adding to the inventory. I sure do envy your acreage. I'm doing this on 2/5 acre.