Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flybynyte_gw

Northern Sea Oats.....

flybynyte
18 years ago

Would like to read comments from gardeners who grow (or have grown) this grass, and how you may have used it in your garden(s). I understand this grass likes moisture, but not soggy soil. It really caught my eye at a nursery.

Thanks,
Randy

Comments (36)

• AgastacheMan
    18 years ago

I have been growing Chasmanthium latifolium for over 13 years, and I never get tired of the interesting seed heads, fall colors, and wide blades. the plant likes moisture, you are correct, but make sure your soil incorporates more fir bark, than peat moss for you will experience root rot, and difficulty with root formation. Light shade is great for even color formation, but for deep shade, the colors will not appear. Right now, my Chasmanthiums are starting on their flowers, and hopefully this fall will be easy on the colors.

• blackie57
    18 years ago

This is my second year for this grass and it's really coming into its own..I love it..have it planted in a place where it gets sun until about 2 in the afternoon and then dappled shade after and it's just beautiful !!! Makes an incredible statement. A real keeper !

Blackie

• donn_
    18 years ago

I grew my first clump from seed last year. I loved it! It bloomed, and I used it's seeds to grow 10 more clumps this year. Beautiful plant.

• dawgie
    18 years ago