Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
terocity

Ornamental grasses

terocity
17 years ago

Hi everyone! This is my first post! Yay! I am in Pembroke,GA recently moved from Savannah,GA. We have five acres, about half not wooded, that we now own and live on! I am dealing with loamy sand (or is it sandy loam?) soil and I have planted a small..actually a "wee" bed of flowers....and so far they are fine. I need all the help I can get but am on a very limited budget! I had a nice variety of shrubs, flowers and other plants at our former home. I asked the new owner to call me (she is adding on) if she would be tossing plants as I would love to take them with me. SHe didn't. She tossed! Anyway I think some ornamental grasses would be awesome and low maintenance in certain areas along our drive. Does anyone know of a place I can purchase some at a low cost (or almost free!) or possibly do something in trade? I am not in a postion to trade plants but I am a decorative painter and paint anything that sits still long enough to be painted! Thanks! God belss!

Tara

Comments (10)

• donn_
    17 years ago

The cheapest way to get ornamental grasses is to grow them from seed. It's easy to do, and doesn't take too long to get nice mature plants. This Miscanthus is in it's 3rd year from seed. It's foliage is 4' tall by 4' wide, and the plumes are over 5' tall.

If you aren't into growing them from seed, I'll swap plants and divisions for nicely painted plant containers and pots. Can you post pics of your work?

• terocity
    Original Author
    17 years ago

How in the world do youpost on here? And right now all I have on this computer is a dragon I am working on for my son. We had a computer crash and lost everything. I may be able to pull up some things from my old computer as well. Just tlel me how to post because I cannot seem to find an "upload pic" option! Thanks!
    Tara

• donn_
    17 years ago

Open a free account at PhotoBucket.com