Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lori_ma

Karl Foerster, too late to plant?

Lori_MA
18 years ago

I'm new to grasses but I've become really interested in growing them. Is it too late to plant Karl Foerster in my zone - 5b, 6a? Thanks for any help and advise.

Comments (7)

• pezhead
    18 years ago

Karl Forester is a cool season grower and as such is ok with fall transplant.

• sage_lover
    18 years ago

Using a root stimulator can only help, I use it with almost everything I plant. FYI: Have had problems with planting Miscanthus 'Morning Light' in the fall.

• pezhead
    18 years ago

As warm season growers Miscanthus are expending their maximum energy in the fall in flowering. Transplanting at that point seems a risky business when mid-late spring or even early summer planting guarantees good results.

When transplanting any grasses I always slice the root wad along its length once or twice to facilitate faster and better root penetration into the surrounding soil and typically add a shovel or two of fine chipped gravel to the soil. I've never used root stimulator -- probably never will on a grass. They always seem to do well so far.

• luvahydrangea
    18 years ago

I've found that soaking the root ball and rinsing the soil off with a hose prior to transplanting works well to loosen the roots to stimulate their growth. If the root ball seems a bit dry (as is often the case with plants I buy as I get them on clearance) I soak it for a few minutes in a bucket. I've found there's less transplant shock than with slicing the roots and actually has the same effect.

• pezhead
    18 years ago

good suggestion -- I'm such a brute.

• gillespiegardens
    18 years ago

All Miscanthus are warm season grasses so I agree that your Morning Light would have most likely had problems being planted/transplanted/divided in the fall.
    And yes Karl is a cool season one so any cool weather is when their roots are actively growing so now is a good time for Karl Foerster.