Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diygardener_gw

Karl Forester in winter

diygardener
18 years ago

I'm new to grasses, so excuse me if this is a dumb question! What happens to Karl Forester in the winter? Does it hang around or die back? Are you supposed to cut it back like a perennial or let it remain? If so, what happens in the spring? Do you cut it back or watch the old grass mix with the new green? There's an area of my yard where I need something vertical (to block the view of trash cans) and I was thinking of planting a narrow evergreen. Now I'm wondering if some sort of vertical grass would work. It would be far more interesting visually, but I don't know if it would be practical. Thanks.

Comments (6)

• pezhead
    18 years ago

Karl is a cool season grower and will be active until or slightly after the first few frosts. In your zone the leaves will turn brown in the hard winter and the flower spikes will probably stand up to some of your winter storms. Around March you should shear it to about 6" and watch it grow again. Not year-round screening, but a nice grass.

• sage_lover
    18 years ago

You really cannot hurt this grass no matter what you do. It is one of the earliest to start growing and to put up seedheads so it makes a nice screen. LOL gives good advice.

• jake
    18 years ago

Karl is a cfool season grass, yes. What becomes an issue is that Karl can turn brown before the "growing "season ends.

Being an early season "bloomer" it can and will brown out once its "flowering" season has run its course. This may be early in the fall season or anywhere close.

Temps, day light, moisture are all part of this cycle. Plus a couple others that I won't go into.

I have had success planting any and all grasses most any time in the growing season. Good? Maybe?! Bad? It can be!!

As for turning brown, once Karl has "flowered" it will start to brown out. (At least in our zone of 4b-5a). Nature of the beast or the growing cycle.