Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
highalttransplant

Suggestions for ornamental grass welcome

highalttransplant
18 years ago

I would like to replace two unidentified shrubs with ornamental grass, but have never used them before. The builder planted these shrubs in front of every house in the subdivision I think, and they grow way too big for the small flower bed there. They are at the back of the bed. The first row is my perennial flowers, the second row is another shrub that I don't know the name of (sorry I'm a rookie)which are 2' to 3' tall. The flower bed is under our front window, so I need something 3' to 4' in height, and probably no more than 3' in width. Can't decide whether something upright or more fountain like would be best. I'd love something that has some color in the fall or winter, but I don't want an annual. I'm a lazy rookie you see! I'll try to post a before picture when I figure out how to do that.

Comments (6)

• deep___roots
    18 years ago

schizachyrium scoparium
    panicum varieties
    check highcountrygardens.com for some o.g. ideas for your area.

• pezhead
    18 years ago

What is the exposure of the flower bed? Schizachyrium will be en excellent choice IF you have nearly full sun and can provide excellent drainage for them. There must be no mulch against their crowns. I also agree with the Panicum suggestion -- Hanse Herms is good for color. Miscanthus 'Purpurascens' is also a possible choice. Another, and probably hard to find, is Spodiopogon Sibericus or Siberian Greybeard -- a very interesting and attractive grass.

• AgastacheMan
    18 years ago