Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
j_nail

Propagation by seed in greenhouse

j_nail
16 years ago

Hello all! I'm a student in the Greenhouse/Nursery program at my local college and I'm in charge of growing the ornamental grasses (and natives) this year. I'm growing several types from seed I've collected and was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for resources?

Comments (3)

• donn_
    16 years ago

What sort of resources do you need? Many of us grow ornamental grasses from seed, but we'd need to have an idea what you're looking for; Seeds? Germination temperatures? Sowing depths? Stratification requirements? Medium suggestions?

Perhaps if you tell us more about your program, and the seeds you'll be using, we can give specific answers.

• j_nail
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I apologize for being vague. I felt bad asking for specific answers (may be silly, but seemed to me a lot to ask) so I was mostly looking to see what resources (books, websites, etc) that people have found are reliable.

I've collected seed from:
    Saccharum ravennae (definitely will be growing)
    Miscanthus sinensis 'Purpurescens' and 'Cabaret'
    and a couple others I need to get a positive ID on, then I will narrow down which I'm growing.

I will also be growing 4 that my instructor ordered in (coming in March) including:
    Pennisetum glaucum 'Purple Majesty', (plug)
    Acorus gramineus 'Ogon', (seed)
    Calamagrostis x acutiflora 'Overdam', (plug) and
    Helictotrichon sempervirens (plug)
    However I need to CONFIRM which will be seed or plugs.

What I'm looking to establish (in a nutshell) is a crop schedule, including when/where/how they will be sown/planted, transplant date, spacing, etc., in order to be ready for sale in 3.5" pots by the week before Mother's Day. All of the things you mentioned will be useful in establishing a schedule.