Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bklyndirt

This has stumped me (ornamenta/forage connection)

bklyndirt
18 years ago

I'm a landscape designer working on a project in Vermont. In deference to the huge influence of dairy farming in the state I wanted to include a perennial ornamental grass in one large planting bed (6' wide by about 60' long).

Here's the part that stumps me - I wanted to choose a grass that is also appropriate as a forage and or hay-producing plant.

Now, I don't want any of those farmers to invite their cows to my park, but I do want the ornamental garden to speak to the pragmatic agriculture of the state.

So for those of you who know their way around ornamental grasses more than I . . . do any of our ornamentals have a humble forage or hay history?

Thanks,

Yamila

PS - As if that's not hard enough, I also want the grass to be anywhere from 18" to 36" tall. If it's too short it will just blend with the lawn and if it's too tall I'll have visibility problems.

Comments (4)

• donn_
    18 years ago

There are lots and lots of ornamental grasses which have a history as food for grazers. Andropogon gerardii (Big Bluestem) and Schizachyrium scoparium (Little Bluestem) were once among the most plentiful prairie grasses.

Linked below is a terrific source of information about native prairie grasses.

Here is a link that might be useful: Prairie Frontier

• Pudge 2b
    18 years ago

Phleum pratense (Timothy Grass) is another possibility. The grass foliage stays quite short and isn't particularly interesting however the tall, strong seedheads, which form early and last a long time, are (IMO) quite decorative going thru stages of green, purple and brown/tan.

• leftwood
    18 years ago

I knew this book would come in handy-someday. It's called Pasture and Range Plants put out by the Phillips Petroleum Company,1963. It says,
    About Big Bluestem (A. gerardi):