Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linnea56chgo5b

Ornamental grasses from seed?

This is my first time on this forum. I was hoping to find a FAQ for all my dumb grass questions (questions dumb, not grass. Grass pretty).

Can you grow ornamental grasses from seed? I mean, heck, they make so much seed. Is it tricky to germinate or something?

Comments (15)

• donn_
    17 years ago

Growing grass from seed is one of my favorite things. Here's my list so far:

Anthoxanthum odoratum.. Sweet Vernal Grass
    Briza maxima.. Annual Quaking Grass
    Briza media.. Quaking Grass
    Calamagrostis brachytricha..Fall Blooming Feather Reed Grass
    Carex comans 'Bronze Form'..Bronze New Zealand Hair Sedge
    Carex grayi.. Gray's Sedge
    Carex muskingumensis.. Palm Sedge
    Chasmanthium latifolium.. Northern Sea Oats
    Cortaderia selloana.. Pampas Grass
    Deschampsia caespitosa.. Tufted Hairgrass
    Eragrostis spectabilis.. Purple Love Grass
    Festuca gigantea.. Giant Fescue
    Festuca glauca.. Blue Fescue
    Festuca mairei.. Maire's Fescue
    Festuca scoparia.. syn. Festuca gautieri..Bearskin Fescue
    Helictotrichon sempervirens..Blue Oat Grass
    Hystrix patula.. Bottlebrush Grass
    Lagurus ovatus.. Bunny Tails - Annual
    Luzula nivea.. Snowy Woodrush
    Luzula sylvatica.. Greater Woodrush
    Miscanthus sinensis 'Central Park'..Maiden Grass
    Miscanthus sinensis.. 'New Hybrids'..Maiden Grass, Eulalia Grass
    Nassella tenuissima.. Mexican Feather Grass
    Panicum virgatum.. Switch Grass
    Panicum virgatum 'Strictum'..Switch Grass
    Pennisetum glaucum 'Purple Majesty'..Ornamental Millet..Annual
    Pennisetum alopecuroides.. Fountain Grass
    Pennisetum alopecuroides 'Moudry'.. Black Seeded Fountain Grass
    Pennisetum orientale..Oriental Fountain Grass
    Saccharum ravennae..Ravenna Grass
    Sesleria caerulea.. Blue Moor Grass
    Setaria faberi.. Giant Foxtail - Annual
    Sporobolus heterolepis..Prairie Dropseed