Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbie_2007

Cutting back OG after first year

newbie_2007
16 years ago

I'm new to this and will start my first berm this Spring. No trimming needed first year. Are all the warm season OG's cut back close to the ground and would hedge trimmers be ok to use in early Spring the next year and there after. Then what to do with the cutings. That's a lot of grass. IÂd love to compost but a burn might be needed. I don't think this is considered hay so the farmers might not want it.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Rory

Comments (9)

• prairiegirlz5
    16 years ago

Yes, hedge trimmers are fine to cut back warm or cool season grasses, this only refers to when they get started again. You may want to tape the clump together with duct tape, keeps it from flopping around, and it's easier to handle.

• newbie_2007
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for the info.
    Tie Up Grasses was good (I didn't get any audio) but from what I saw the grasses were only being stabilized. Are most of the tall OG's needing tie ups to keep them from flopping? I guess being tied like that would allow me to sweep the stand with a hedge trimmer in the Spring. Where do ya put all the cuttings? Burn compost or hay for farmers?

• webkat5
    16 years ago

Don't cut them too close to the ground when you do so....leave at least 6 inches....8 is better.

• achnatherum
    16 years ago

Rory,
    RE: what to do with the trimmings.
    Yes, you could burn but ...
    First, check your local ordenances - burning my not be allowed.
    Second, you will find that many of the larger grasses such as the Miscanthus loose most of their leaves over the winter AND the stalks really don't burn very easily. I used a torch one year & still couln't get them to burn satisfactorily. On the other hand Pennisetums burn FAST - almost scary fast!