Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vtreejod

WANTED: groundcover for shade, near pines, keep out other foliage

vtreejod
18 years ago

hi all

i am a novice gardener looking for some advice and you guys always seem to come through...

i want:

- fairly invasive THICK and LOW (- does well in partial to full shade under pine trees

- pretty damp soil

- will help KEEP POISON IVY OUT! (which i have been ripping out)

- not TOO hard to control (so it wont wreck my stone path)

the area i need to "cover" is basically a small wodded zone... with grass on one side, a garden bed (yet to planted) on one side, the stone walk on another, and more woods (dont care about them) on the fourth side.

the garden area is mostly sunny to partly shady so maybe if the ground cover doesnt like too much sun that will help control it naturally from spreading that way? same with the grass area...

any ideas? I live in Massachusetts (non-coastal)

thanks for your help

i am hoping to buy some plants as easly in the spring as i can to get them in before other growth starts up.

cheers

julie

Comments (5)

• stumpie
    18 years ago

Julie.
    Wintergreen is lovely and likes the acid soil the pine trees provide. Wild or European Ginger would work well too. If you are not concerned with invasiveness, Wintercreeper, Goutweed, or Lilly of the Valley (careful, poisonous)spread well. My advice to you is lay down some newspaper, and add more good garden soil and mulch. That might help kill the Poison Ivy before it has a chance to germinate. If your pine trees are nice and big, the extra cover shouldn't hurt them. Otherwise you could apply Preen after the snow is gone, and before the frosts are finished.
    Good Luck!

• vtreejod
    Original Author
    18 years ago

oh thanks! i like the idea of the newspaper/soil/mulch. How much newspaper do you put down? a few sheets thick? an inch? whole? or torn? how long before you can plant ove rit so that the roots can pass through it?