Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
landofoz_07

What Would You Recommend?

landofoz_07
17 years ago

Hi! I'm new to flower gardening and am trying my hand out on a shade garden. I have a very old apricot tree, growing next to a line of 4 spindly elms (all on border between my property and neighbors) and a 10-15 foot pine tree about 15 feet away from the base of the apricot trunk. This isn't a very shady area, believe it or not, and it get lots of indirect light, reflected from our white house. The soil is extremely sandy and compacted. Grass doesn't grow there, weeds don't grow, nothing grows. One reason why, might be that some Idiot buried a ton (figurtively speaking) of bricks, mortar, and smallish rock slabs about 12 inches deep in this area. It is almost impossible to dig because of this.

I'm looking for a really tough, hard to kill and fairly aggressive groundcover. I really like ajuga and lamium (sp?) but I don't know how quickly they'd get out of control. Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks,

Sarah

Comments (5)

• tjsangel
    17 years ago

Hi,

It really depends on how much sun we're talking about. Does the soil get dry during the summer? If you have partial shade you can try lily of the valley-spreads real fast-vinca, with less flowering, or Epimedium, which needs moisture the first year, then adapts to dry shade. Sweet woodruff is a pretty, fast growing groundcover. Ajuga spreads fast, Lamium does not. Both attractive and hardy. Creeping Jenny would work if you have moisture too.

Jen

• landofoz_07
    Original Author
    17 years ago