Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowersun_gw

Looking for sun loving ground covers

flowersun
18 years ago

Hi, I'm new to this particular forum on Gardenweb... just spotted you and am glad I did. I live in Zone 9a Florida, and I'm looking for a nice sun loving ground cover preferably evergreen, also some flowering, that will allow perennials to pop through it. Must love full sun.

Any ideas?

Comments (9)

• creatrix
    18 years ago

Check out Verbena 'Homestead Purple'. It will bloom most of the summer.

• flowersun
    Original Author
    18 years ago

The verbena did not do that well in my garden. I did try it.

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    18 years ago

Asiatic Jasmine will take full sun in Florida.

• flowersun
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I'm going to post the choices I've been narrowing down to in another thread.

• dorry2
    18 years ago

I planted the Homestead Purple, and while it grewbeautifully last summer and spread, it did not make it through the winter. I was very disappointed because I like ground cover as opposed to mulching every spring. I like the entire garden covered with a low-lying ground cover and thought this verbena would do the trick. Now I am back to square one trying to find a quick spreading ground cover.

• sandy_9a_fl_gulf
    14 years ago

Florasun,
    Where can I find that new thread? I am replacing my dead lawn with groundcover too. Full sun...but I have found a great light shade plant that only spreads to the sunny edge in the lawn and is green all year.
    Sandy

• christophernftl
    14 years ago

sandy_9a_fl_gulf,

If you find any information please let me know, I am in Fort Lauderdale and desperately seeking something quick spreading to replace the sad St. Augustine in the backyard.

• hemnancy
    14 years ago

Here is a link for you-

Here is a link that might be useful: Silver Carpet

• senjanevada
    14 years ago