Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
futique

What to do with rockbed under massive Elm?

futique
16 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am hoping someone can offer some advice. My wife and I bought a house this past Winter, and while the landscaping was generally of very high quality, we find ourselves hating the bed of rocks that surround the 100ft+ Elm tree in our front yard.

We have an underground irrigation system, but this area only contains a soaker hose for the lilac and butterfly bush you can see to the left of the tree.

I'd love to plant some sort of groundcover, but I am new to gardening, and I have a few beginner questions:

1. Would we need to remove the rocks before planting any groundcover, or are there some varieties that can successfully grow over rocks like these?

2. Even if we could plant over these rocks, would doing so be something we'd likely regret later?

3. What would you suggest we plant from an aesthetic/functional standpoint, based on the attached pictures?

(Please forgive the mess, I was weeding.) ;)

Any advice you could lend would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

{{gwi:853006}}

{{gwi:853008}}

Comments (10)

• linda_schreiber
    16 years ago