Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
volcannah

Removing false strawberry

volcannah
18 years ago

This message is on behalf of my father in eastern Massachusetts. His garden is overrun with barren or false strawberry plants (Waldsteinia). They were originally a groundcover but now are everywhere. They are spiny and difficult to pull out of the ground, and if he pulls it, they just grow back. He wants to get rid of the plants without using dangerous chemicals like Roundup. Do you know any way to get the barren strawberry out using "organic" or "natural" means.

Comments (5)

• linda_schreiber
    18 years ago

I have no experience with this plant, but because I had not heard of it out in Michigan, I had to do some looking up... [Just always curious.] It apparently is endangered, at least in wild areas, in both Massachusetts and Connecticut. This might help with your father's problem!

Most groundcovers and such spreading plants spread by runners of one sort or another, below ground, and these things can often be very complex under the soil level. Pulling the plants up, even if it looks like you have pulled a lot of "root" with it, doesn't help much. New shoots sprout up from the underground parts.

But if it is endangered.... Do some searching re local/county/state volunteer or official organizations, garden clubs, environmental orgs, etc. You might find some who would send a few volunteers out to *dig out* your father's problem child, and move or ship it elsewhere, in MA or CT or elsewhere, where they would want to reestablish this endangered critter.

• Ina Plassa_travis
    18 years ago

linda's right- posting it on freecycle or craigslist as a 'dig ur own' project may get you a ton of responses...

beyond that, a local wildflower conservation group will usually come out for a 'rescue' mission.