Return to the Groundcovers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Alternatives to Periwinkle

Posted by joannemb 5 (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 9, 09 at 0:25

I am looking for a ground cover that flowers. I love the old fashioned lush look of good 'ol pachysandra, but would love a white flower too. To me, creeping myrtle (vinca minor, periwinkle) fits the bill. However, as a novice I am terrified to plant it after reading about it's invasive nature. Is there another white flowering ground cover that you can think of that has a folliage that is similar (or similar to pachysandra?) I've looked at candytuft and bellflower and creeping phlox, but don't like the spikiness or frilliness of the leaves. I'm looking for something with more substance (if that makes any sense?)

Also, would get morning sun (east) and late afternoon shade. Thanks for your help I've been googling all night with no luck! :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Alternatives to Periwinkle

Checkerberry (Gaultheria procumbens) might work for you. Also known as Wintergreen. It spreads by underground stems, and has dark green, evergreen leaves, and white flowers in summer. It also has the added plus of little red berries in the fall. It tolerates shade but grows and flowers the best with a little sun, but not all day hot baking sun. Morning sun and afternoon shade would probably be fine. The leaves take on a slightly reddish/purple-y color when the weather gets colder.

Checkerberry needs an acidic soil, so you may want to test your soil PH with one of those little test tube kits from the garden store. It likes soil that's fairly rich, like the kind you find in forests.

The only drawback to Checkerberry is if you have deer or other critters in your area, they may munch on the leaves and berries in the winter.

It also spreads fairly slowly as compared to Japanese pachysandra or Vinca minor. It'll take a few years for it to really start looking lush.