Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spazboy357

Less aggressive groundcover?

spazboy357
15 years ago

I'm currently tearing out about 1/4 acre of English Ivy and looking for something to replace it. I'd like something a LOT less aggressive/invasive than the ivy and I have no experience with ground covers. The area is uneven and mostly shaded and the ivy has been dominant for the past 20 years or so. (Dominant to the point of moving into the yards of 4 other neighbors and nearly pulling down ~30 feet of stockade fence.) The only other plants in the area are the trees that provide the shade and I'll be taking down several of those.

Comments (5)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    15 years ago

It's a pretty long list :-) Vinca minor would certainly work, although some would argue it's plenty aggressive as well. IME, it is FAR less agressive than ivy and MUCH easier to remove if it does wander. Other choices could be ajuga (needs some sun to bloom nicely), hardy gingers (Asarum species), lamium (dead nettle), Galium odoratum, Cornus canadensis (bunchberry), wintergreen (Gaultheria procumbens), Euphorbia robbiae, various shade loving hardy geraniums or dwarf Sarcococca. Liriope or dwarf mondo grass is also often used in these conditions but spread tends to be very slow compared to other choices.

With that much ground to cover, you may want to expand your choices to include plants other than common groundcovers. Hostas, ferns, astilbe, epimediums and brunnera are all possibilities but any shade loving perennial or low shrub could work. A few hellebores would be a great addition as well, but make sure they get at least partial sun.

• spazboy357
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks for the big list, Gardengal!