Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nac_mac_feegle

Need shade plant suggestions

nac_mac_feegle
19 years ago

Help! I'm brand new to Southern Ontario. I'm zone 6a in the Canadian system and 5b in the US system. I'm looking for some good plants for deep shade, perrenials and/or annuals. The front of my house has some immature boxwoods with HUGE gaps between them, and we have two trees in the front yard which create a lot of shade. I need suggestions for a ground cover and some vertical interest.

PLEASE help.

Thanks,

Feegle

Comments (5)

• vbain
    19 years ago

If your trees are deciduaous, you might consider things like trilliums, hepatica, virginia bluebells, trout lilies(erythronium), blood root, etc. Any library will have books of native plants, and shade plants.

• nac_mac_feegle
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks. The trees are deciduous, and I've already planted some EARLY spring bulbs hoping to take advantage of early spring sun.

I'll go look it up in the library. I've been looking on the web and having trouble. One of the issues is that the area I want to fill had the boxwoods, so it's a bit acidic. I'm hoping that if I improve the soil, I'll have more sucess than the last people who lived here.

Feegle

• Mozart2
    19 years ago

My suggestion/recommendation would be to visit your local public library and see if they can either provide you with or interlibrary loan the following books. All three are fairly current, well illustrated, and with excellent descriptions.

If you wish to add them to your own library for future reference, you might search for these books at amazon.com; abe.com; or alibris. com. The latter two sources are excellent sources for finding used or new books in various conditions and various prices.

Hope this is more than useful.

Growing Perennials in Cold Climates by by Heger & Whitman;

The American Woodland Garden by Rick Darke;

An Encyclopedia of Shade Perennials by W. George Schmid

• stinkypink
    19 years ago