Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jugglerguy

What's your favorite gardening magazine?

jugglerguy
19 years ago

I've been into gardening for quite a while, but have never ordered a magazine. When I watch gardening shows on TV, I'm sometimes disappointed that they all seem to be in California, so the plants they use don't really work in Michigan. I was wondering if there's a good magazine that is geared toward northern zones (I'm in Alpena, zone 4-5). I like good photography for inspiration, but I also like some substance in the accompanying article. I'm also interested in garden design as much as, if not more than individual plants. So does anyone know of a magazine that I might like?

Comments (14)

• grannymarsh
    19 years ago

"Horticulture" They have a section towards the back that gives you the proper pronunciation for all plants discussed in that issue. Plus regional articles. I've been subscribing for 4 or 5 years.

• cody_mi
    19 years ago

horticulture
    fine gardening
    organic gardening
    country gardens
    garden design

• goodhors
    19 years ago

The magazines mentioned are all good. I also like Horticulture, who does geographic sections to cover the whole nation. They are real good, have given me many ideas, reasonable approaches to gardening. Garden Design is also very nice, many ideas, great designs in all areas, I just thought it was too expensive for my magazine budget. Same with Fine Gardening, great stuff, just an expensive magazine.

• stinkypink
    19 years ago

Oviously a magazine called "Chicagoland Gardening" will have some things you wouldn't care about, like local nursery listings, but since it mostly deals with zone 5ish Illinois gardening, it might be worth a look. I have no idea if it's cheaper than FG or not.

• Bob_Zn5
    19 years ago