Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peter4_gw

Christmas Cactus??

peter4
14 years ago

My dauaghter received a Christmas cactus for Christmas, and since then, it has gone from good to bad. She gave it to me yesterday to see if I could do anything with it. First, the ground that the small pot was in felt like a brick, and was totally dry - so I put the whole thing in a large bowl with water. It finally sopped up all the water, but now what do I do. My thought is to try to get all or most of the original soil?? out first, and then put it in some new soil. Any help would be appreciated because I have never grown up - how damp should it be, direct or indirect sunlight, etc.

Comments (4)

• rawb
    14 years ago

Hey Peter.. I am no cacti expert.. but I just read someplace about someone asking about their cacti. The reply mentioned.. probably don't want a shallow container or a medium that retains water. I think cactus like water but don't like their feet staying wet for to long... Like I said no expert, but I associate cactus with deserts so I would think they would like some sun.. Is there a cactus forum here.. try asking there.. or you might try the container gardening forum an look for post on Al's gritty mix. It isn't suppose to retain water an I know alot of people like it!

• paul_
    14 years ago

Sounds like it was planted in peat moss which would be a problem.

They aren't desert cacti but rather from the tropics. As I recall, in nature they grow as epiphytes on trees. As such they like moisture BUT do not like to stay wet. I've grown the "thankgiving" cacti in a mix of potting soil and orchid bark, but have seen all sorts of media used. I've never tried Al's mix but have heard good things about it.

Lightwise, bright indirect light is desirable. Strong direct sun will cook them.

• linda_schreiber
    14 years ago