Return to the Great Lakes Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
lawn moss question

Posted by tewitt1949 mich (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 24, 14 at 11:44

I searched here and many have problems with moss in their lawn. I read several ideas to get rid of it but I've tryed many and others say they can't get rid of it.

I was wondering if I planted clover (which isn't my ideal lawn cover) and if I could get it to grow, would it produce enough of a canapy over the moss where the moss would die because of lack of sun light?

Any ideas are appriciated

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: lawn moss question

I'm not an expert, but it sounds like you might have a drainage problem, which can cause moss to grow. Also, in new subdivisions the topsoil is scraped off and there's not a lot of soil for grass and clover to grow in. That's the problem we've been dealing with.

If you have drainage problems, solve that first.

Clover is really nice in a lawn, and IMHO easier to grow. Just be aware that if you don't mow for a while and it flowers, you'll have pollinators in your lawn. Good or bad, depending on what you want, and if you have kids out barefoot. ;-)

o

Thanks for the suggestions. I don't have a drainage problem but I live in a mature woods with a few trees cut for a clearing to make a lawn. The dirt in the yard is dirt from the woods which is decayed leaves, wood etc. Appears to be good rich soil and should grow anything. Actually It does grow moss good.

I just want to get rid of the moss.

o

"I just want to get rid of the moss."

Why? It doesn't need mown, is adapted to survive your conditions without fertilzers or any of the other extra care grass demands, nor will it smother out any of your other plantings as would grass or clover. Nor will it create a thick root mat that can be a bear to dig through as will grass.