Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dwm158

Composting

dwm158
14 years ago

I'm very new to the ideas of composting. So, any help would be great. I'd like to know mainly but type of composter is the best. I'd like to stay under $200. I'd also like to just throw things in and turn if needed. I don't have a lot of extra time for much past that.

Thanks,

Comments (5)

• linda_schreiber
    14 years ago

It completely depends on how fast you really want the finished compost to be ready to spread on your garden. Speed is the only issue when it comes to the what kind of 'composter' you might want to deal with, at least zones 5/6.

If you are just interested in having a way to turn yard waste and kitchen waste into good compost, that is very inexpensive and easy. It's the method I usually use, since I am both cheap and short on time.... You pick a spot, and dump everything on that spot (grins).

Oh, I do have three side-by-side wire-frame bins to enclose the sequential piles. I think they were about $15 each. Fill up bin. Then start filling the next. When the first pile is slumping, add more stuff. That helps the slumping pile compost more quickly.

In zones 5/6, no-fuss composting is fairly quick. The first bin I fill has a large core of spread-ready compost the next spring. I fork out the surface stuff that has not composted into the third and later bin, and shovel the good compost onto the garden beds. That bin is now empty, and I will put all further waste into the other part-fulls, and save the empty one for later overflow. I dig into the second pile later in the season, as needed.

I don't water, or stir, and aerate.... Just don't have the time. And I don't worry about 'layering' correctly, the only warning being that you don't want lawnmower clippings dumped to create heavy layers. If you must dump a lawnmower catch-bag, then stir it in to break up the 'matting' effect.