Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michigankeri

wildflowers for yard - newbie please help!

michigankeri
19 years ago

I'm looking to plant some wildflowers for cutting and color (preferably from seed) in my front and side yard. I'm new to this and don't know what will do well in the cooler MI weather and my low light front yard.

Any help you can give is VERY much appreciated.

Keri

Comments (6)

• murphyl
    19 years ago

The easiest way to do what you're looking for is to go to Bordine's or some other nursery and get a packet of wildflower mix. Sprinkle liberally, tamp down, water and wait; you'll have a nice-looking patch of wildflowers by June. If you want to be more methodical, though, you'll need to do some research.

The first thing I'd do is go look up a few seed companies' Web sites and start reading. Since I'm a fan of heirlooms and lesser-known varieties, my favorites are Renee's Garden, Botanical Interests and Seed Savers Exchange. Your other option is to spend some quality time at your public library and look up books on gardening. Write down the names of plants you're interested in, then hit the nursery.

Based on the conditions you described, you'll be looking for plants that will tolerate shade to part shade, hardy to Zone 4. (Everybody says we're Zone 5 here, but sit through one good April ice-storm and you'll reconsider.)

Another thing to consider is what you want your flowers to do. Do you want perennials or annuals? Are you particularly set on attracting butterflies or birds? Do you want drought-resistant species, or those tolerant of poor soils? Write down your needs and look for flowers that match them.

As a sample, I've included conditions in my own yard and some of the flowers we grow. Hopefully you'll find it useful.

Soil: Base soil is mostly clay and quite alkaline; several years' amending with organic matter and mulching have improved planted areas to heavy topsoil with neutral pH.