Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
murphyl_gw

Acid loving flower recommendations?

murphyl
19 years ago

The situation: I'm looking for things to plant in our front walkway beds that will tolerate acidic soil.

The beds in question are currently occupied by a mess. There is a large jack pine at one end of the bed, whence the acidic soil. Originally the area was planted with yews, barberry, and one large hydrangea; we ripped out the yews. My idiot brother-in-law (a landscaper by trade, which is frightening) told us to put in boxwoods, dwarf astilbe, salvia, two pyramidal Alberta spruces, carpet roses, a flowering cherry, hostas, heuchera, and pieris. Three years later, the hostas and the hydrangea are the only things that are doing well; everything else is either dead, sickly or just plain looks like $%!&.

Can anybody think of flowers (preferably perennial) that enjoy acidic conditions and can tolerate cold?

Thanks in advance!

Comments (7)

• grannymarsh
    19 years ago

Have you had your soil tested? Or a pH test?

• murphyl
    Original Author
    19 years ago

I own a pH meter and test my soil regularly. Last year in October, the soil right under the pines (which is where the hydrangeas are planted) tested 6.4. Soil elsewhere in the bed tested 6.7. The rest of my yard tests 7.0-7.5.

As for soil conditions, the soil on my property is mostly clay, but I've improved everything except the lawn with nine years' worth of adding compost, mulch and various soil conditioners. (Dad won't let anyone touch his beloved grass except the ChemLawn guys - which is also why the lawn is the only thing on our property that isn't handled organically.)

I'm taking a series of soil samples to Bordine's tomorrow for detailed testing. I'll let you know what turns up.

• mphelps33
    19 years ago