Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ditaroy

Landscaping tip

ditaroy
16 years ago

Hi,

I have a new house with a brand new garden which needs to go in. The house is being built and will be ready sometime in July and we will move in sometime August. I was wondering if August/September is a good time of the year to plant discounted plants and shrubs that are sold at nurseries. Or should I wait till next spring to plant anything in the garden. Also is there anything that I can plant that time of the year other than bulbs? Any landscaping tips or ideas will be a great help since I am new to this!

Thanks!

Comments (19)

• Judy_B_ON
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Being new to gardening, the best thing you can do is hire a professional designer to design your garden. Most good garden centres have a designer on staff or can recommend one. Planning for size, sun, soil, moisture is the most critical thing and you will likely save the cost of the design in mistakes prevented.

The second best thing is to build your soil. New houses often have a very thin layer of topsoil and it will settle over the next year. Once you know where the beds will be (landscape plan), you can add compost to them in preparation for planting. Planting can be done in September as there are still two months til the ground freezes and the plant roots will get established.

The worst thing you can do is run around to nurseries in August buying up cheap leftovers and plopping them into unprepared ground any old place on your property. You will end up buying the wrong plant for the wrong place because it was a bargain and a few years from now will taking it out because it failed to grow or grew too big.

Generally, the first things to do are the deck, fences, walkways and other hard surfaces, then plant trees, then shrubs then perennials. Do it in this order because the hard surfaces will determine the placement of other elements and trees take longest to grow.