Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hortaholic_gw

SW Michigan plant nut looking for same

hortaholic
19 years ago

Looking for other plant enthusiasts in the Michiana area for plant/seed swapping, nursery outings, and other gardening good times. Lots of plants and seeds to trade (and not enough gardening friends to trade them with).

Russell

Comments (23)

• susiemw
    19 years ago

Hey Russell,

I go back and forth between south bend and niles so it sounds like I might be in your neck of the woods.

I'm a gardening newbie but am enjoying learning and would love to know someone around here who also enjoys going to nurseries etc.

Susan

• hortaholic
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Hi, Susan. We (including spouse, children, my Shaw's jird, my plant menagerie, and I) are about 10 miles north of Niles. If you're looking for uncommon plants, there are always quite a few to be found in my backyard nursery. A commercial nursery well worth a trip is Wavecrest in Fennville, Michigan, a bit north of South Haven. Farther afield, Fertile Crescent in Kalamazoo and Arrowhead Alpines east of Lansing are great destinations for a half-day/day trip. Are you familiar with Fernwood in Niles? The gardens and plant sale there are well worth a visit. Are there any nurseries in the South Bend area that you'd recommend? God's Green Earth in Niles just north of the border usually has some interesting stuff and specializes in water gardens.

• karen_w
    19 years ago

Fennville...little FENNVILLE has an awesome nursery? No way!!

I'm in West Michigan and a plant nut but I hardly have room for the stuff I have now. Must do major planning and moving. I'm in the Grand Rapids area.

• jkirk3279
    19 years ago

Hey, I'm in Cassopolis ... if we're going to have a meetup, how about having a weeding party in my garden?

:) BYOH.

Bring Your Own Hoe.