Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mostlyweeds

Newbie Hello and a question =)

mostlyweeds
12 years ago

Hello everyone!

This is my first post here, Im a very amateur gardener out of Hamilton, ON. Ive been growing a few veggies in a single raised bed for about 2 years and then this spring I was feeling really good and decided that it was time to really make something happen in the yard. Weve been here for 6yrs now and the only living thing in our decent sized backyard was a Norway maple we planted when my daughter was born, and 10 neglected Emerald Cedars in a row along one fence. All in all... ultra lame haha.

So this spring I added four more 4x8 raised veggies beds for a total of five and I built a little over 100fts worth of 5-6ft deep perimeter bed wrapping around a large portion of the yard! I shuffled the cedars around the bed, evenly spacing them out and planted about 8 1gal lilacs (mostly common) and 8 1gal viburnums, purple sand cherry and pjm rhododendron. Being the frugal sort (read: Poor/2 young kids) I loaded garbage cans of free woodchips from the city forestry yard into the van six at a time until all of my new beds and paths were filled up. I built a nice big composter as well. Everything is very neat and tidy now and Im pleased with the overall look. I should add that my backyard is completely exposed to full sun which makes the garden hotter than the scorched depths of hell hehe. Hopefully as the lilacs fill in and frame out the back half of the beds in spots they can add the privacy and spots of shade Im looking for.

Having become obsessed with my new beds and my now thriving veggies Ive already built my own seed starting shelf/lights setup for this winter! I figure growing all my veggies from seed and trying more interesting heirloom varieties is the next logical step for me. It must be all that much more rewarding. And cost-effective!