Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rinakay_gw

overwintering my bulbs in containers - how?

rinakay
18 years ago

Hi all!

I'm new to gardening and am getting addicted to them! I have a few questions though, on how to overwinter my lilies and tulips in pots - I'm a balcony gardener.

I know in zone 6 the winters can be pretty brutal. Should I put my bulbs in bigger pots - and maybe the types of pots should be taken into consideration also? My apartment is small, so it would be great if I could just leave them outside on my balcony instead of having to bring them in. I DO have a locker in the building, and I was wondering if it'd be too stupid of a thing to try - to leave the bulbs in a pot there? It'd be freezing still, but at least no threat from the snow... If so, do I need to water them once in a while? Or you think they'd be okay there on their own?

God... feel like these are such silly questions, but I've spent quite a sum on these bulbs this year and would like to be able to get them to bloom again next year. HELP!!

Thanks a bunch!

rinakay

Comments (9)

• Judy_B_ON
    18 years ago

It is a very tricky thing to get anything to live through a winter in a container. The containers will freeze solid and are subject to multiple freeze/thaw cycles which will damage the bulbs. Snow is a benefit, as it insulates the container. Covering the containers with 6" of straw might work

You could lift the lily bulbs, dry them out and store them in a cool dark place (bag in fridge?) then replant in early spring. The tulips can also be lifted, planted in a shallow wide pot placed in a plastic bag stored in the fridge over winter and then carefully replanted, roots and all in the spring.

• riff1
    18 years ago

I have a similar new-gardener question.