Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marbrees

How do you grow Winter Hardy Palm trees in zone 5

marbree
16 years ago

Hi, I was wondering, what varieties of winter hardy palm trees and tropicals (like bananas) could a person grow in zone 5, and what would you have to do to take care of them.

Also, is there anything in this category that would do well in sandy soil, with sometimes dry conditions?

Thanks,

Marbree

Comments (8)

• theyardman
    16 years ago

Marbree,

I'm in my third year growing a Chinese Fan Palm (with much success) at my home in Troy, MI. It is now about 3-4 ft. tall and has really leafed out this year. I put cottonwood and oak leaves around before Christmas, then wrap burlap to hold leaves in place, unwrap in early March and cut off any burnt leaves and watch it bloom out again. Usually looks like something again around Memorial Day.

I also cut down my banana tree (musa bajoo) to the stalk, cover with similar leaves and cover with oak/cottonwood leaves until mid-March. It comes up with new shoots around late april. Fully leafed out by Memorial Day.

I also have two MonkeyPuzzle trees, tree trunk yuccas, and native (to Michigan) prickly pear cactii.

Most visitors and relative can't believe what they see when they visit.

• iowapalmz5
    16 years ago

Marbee,

Search "Hardy Palm and Subtropical Board" and go to that board. Lots of knowledgeable people about palms and other tropical plants. I live in the Quad Cities if u know where that is. I have several palms that I keep i the ground with protection over the winter. I also grow lots of bananas and I have four southern magnolias.

• ottawa_basjoo_z5a
    15 years ago

Marbee,