Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brenleigh_gw

forcing bulbs

brenleigh
18 years ago

Hi! This is my first time here and, wow, what a great place! Last year I received some potted hyacyths(sp) and daffodils, and I was wondering if I could use them again this year for forcing indoors. I have never done this before, so is there anyone out there with very detailed instructions on how to do this?

Comments (4)

• Peach_Fuzz
    18 years ago

In my experience, forcing uses most of the bulb's energy. I usually plant mine in the yard after forcing them for a season. Others may have had better experiences with re-using the bulbs; I'm curious to see what others have to say.

• Mozart2
    18 years ago

brenleigh:

Probably not because as someone else has responded, the process of forcing takes too much of the bulbs energy and I would also plant them in the garden.

As for the subject of forcing, I'd opt to locate an excellent copy of "Crockett's Indoor Garden" by James Underwood Crockett of The Victory Garden fame. Unfortunately, it is out of print, but copies may be found at or through your local public library and/or at either of the two sources listed below.

http://www.abe.com

OR

http://www.albris.com

Both are excellent sources of used and new books in good to new condition.

Hope this helps!

Bill

• jroot
    18 years ago

I once saw a dutch gardener, who after forcing her bulbs, took them and ran them through her shredder and into her composter. She claimed that they were done, so she might as get that last little bit of good from them.

Today, I was over briefly at a neighbour's place, and he had several very large pots in his garage, into which he had planted his daffodils for next spring's show. He was planning to keep them indoors for the winter, watering only occasionally so they did not get too dry. He claims to have good success.