Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lbarrientes

Gardenias

lbarrientes
9 years ago

My gardenias are looking burnt and brown please tell me what should i do,I'm new to gardening

Comments (6)

• hementia8
    9 years ago

If it is a sooty mold,caused by white flies, a misting of a weak solution of bleach in the late afternoon should clean them.
    be sure to spray with water before the sun hits them
    Getting rid of the white flies should follow

• don68
    9 years ago

Hi
    I have growing gardenias for about 8 years on the Fl west coast. The first couple years was difficult. I finally figured out that the gardenias couldn't handle full sun in my front yard. Always yellowing, bug problems and bud drop. I transplanted a couple to the back yard in only a half day of full sun. What a turn around! I probably have a couple hundred blossoms right now!
    If sooty mold is on the leaves, it should wipe off the leaf fairly easily. If it is sooty mold, you need to first apply a systemic bug killer. The mold is caused by bug droppings. The next step, I would recommend is applying a fungicide like dithane. I use Fertilizer for acid loving plants a few times per year. In between fertilizing application I put down some ironite. This helps keep the leaves nice and green. It is normal for gardenias to periodically go through a leaf drop period. Lots of leaves will turn yellow and drop only to be replaced by new young leaves.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    9 years ago