Return to the Gulf Coast Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Do I have a problem?

Posted by 9bnewb 10a (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 1, 12 at 18:39

Hello,
This is my first attempt at a vegetable garden(raised bed) and I already have a concern. I'm in St. Pete, FL zone 10a, and have some holes in some of my leaves of plants just planted 3 weeks ago. They seem to be only on the big leaf veggies that I have such as the Cucumbers, zucchini, mustard greens and bok choy. I did notice a few small black ants on the zucchini and on the underside of the bok choy I can see very small green insects. Should I worry about them? This is my first post and I have pictures but haven't figured out how to upload them yet. Also, I want to try and not use any hardcore insecticides, and would prefer to stay organic. Should I hit the panic button?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Do I have a problem?

I that it's ants messing with the plants. I do remember seeing some very tiny blank ants on my zucchini last year (on the thick stems), but they were only there for a short time, and I never say any damage from them. You did say though "green insects". That's a broad description.

Holes in leaves - in my experience - have been due to caterpillars. I've had problems with cabbage loopers and melonworms eating zucchini leaves.

I recommend looking very closely at the bottom of (ideally) all the leaves, looking for pests. You'll need to do some detective work.

I too have a raised vegetable garden bed, am relatively new at it (started last August), live in the hot south (southern TX), and use organic principles.

Let us know what you find!

o
RE: Do I have a problem? a

Correction at the beginning, above. I meant

I [doubt] that it's ants...

o