Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
noel713

Lavender and Lemongrass?

noel713
16 years ago

I recently inherited my home, which had no landscaping whatsoever. I'm trying to put some in, but I have no gardening experience and something of a black thumb.

However, I LOVE plants that smell good. I am thinking strongly of trying Spanish/Mexican/French lavender, especially after reading the other forum post on it here. I hope to intersperse it a little bit with lemongrass. Does anyone have any suggestions for me on growing it? Like I said, I have VERY LITTLE gardening experience.

The front of my house is FULL gulf coastal sun, and will be right in front of the drip line. HELP!

Comments (7)

• nwflorida_gardener
    16 years ago

I have had good luck with "fred bolton" I think lavender and it was bought from Ricters herbal catalog that stated was good through zone 9.

• ltcollins1949
    16 years ago

I live on the coastal bend in south Texas and grow lots of herbs on my one-acre of land.

Regarding lemon grass which does very, very well for me, you need full sun with good drainage. Mine grows about 5' tall and puts out flower stalks every fall. I planted it about 5 years ago, and to date it has made it through the winter, even the Christmas 2004 snow. I just pull out the dead leaves every spring. Make sure you always go up on the leaf and not down since they are very sharp.

Regarding lavender, well it is a little harder to grow for me, but I do get it to survive but not profusely. I would suggest staying away from the English lavender, French maybe OK, but the Spanish does best for me. Some varieties of lavender that I have found to be successful are fernleaf, Goodwin, Spanish Grey, and Grosso. My lavender is grown in dapple sunlight in well drained beds. Direct sunlight here in south Texas is way too strong for lavender although it is grown in fields in central Texas where the sun isn't quite as strong.

• beachplant
    16 years ago