Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oregontejano

Help! Tropical Plants in Texas?

oregontejano
16 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to Garden Web so here goes...

We are seriously considering relocating from Northwest Oregon to Texas, most likely around Corpus Christi or Victoria. I've been dreaming about growing tropicals/subtropicals in my own (future) backyard, but all of the info on coastal Texas paints a pretty bleak picture! I expected to find exotic plants galore, but most of the websites "highly" recommended things like oaks, maples, pines, and other "northern" trees. HOW BORING! The shrub and flower recommendations weren't much better. We can grow more than that here in the Willamette Valley! I also found that the majority of the palm species suggested for the gulf coast were ones that we grow here!

So, my question is this. Does gulf coast Texas get so cold that tropicals are just out of the question? Or are these sites just not a real representation of what gardeners actually grow?

Comments (29)

• oregontejano
    Original Author
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

ltcollins1949,

Thanks for the help. It seems so strange to me that it could possibly get that cold there, with Texas being so close to the tropic of cancer. I'm assuming that your cold weather comes off the Great Plains?

Yes, we are prepared to deal with the heat. That is one of the reasons we chose Texas. We are originally from San Jose, California, but have spent a little time in Mississippi and Nicaragua, and so are familiar with a "sauna climate". Around here we have wet, cold weather most of the year. November through March it rains almost constantly with 33-36 degree rain. Not cold enough to snow, but cold enough to be miserable. We don't start having reliably "warm" days (over 78 degrees) until mid-May. Having Thanksgiving dinner outside sound great. Can't wait to get there.

• lac1361
    16 years ago

oregontejano,