Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eahamel

Recipes in 'Joy of Pickling' are loaded with vinegar

eahamel
12 years ago

I've been fermenting for several years now. I have this book, "Joy of Pickling", by Linda Ziedrich, and have made a couple of the recipes, but they are loaded with vinegar. I don't use vinegar when I ferment pickles or anything else. Most of her recipes aren't fermented, but I want to ferment them instead, or make the recipes without the vinegar, then can them so they won't take up all the space in my fridge. Does anyone know if the vinegar can be omitted? I guess the question is, can I still do the bath if there isn't any vinegar in the recipes? Would I have to do the bath for a longer time?

I want to make some of the recipes, but the two that I've already made are so loaded with vinegar that I can't eat them. It's too overpowering!

Comments (11)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You are talking about 2 very different methods of making pickles - fermented pickles vs. fresh pack (aka quick process) - and they work very differently and for the most part aren't interchangeable.

Ziedrich's book has a chapter on Fermented Pickles (Chap. 2) and they contain minimal if any vinegar. The rest of the pickle recipes are fresh pack and yes vinegar is required for them and can't be adjusted. In other words, you can't turn a fresh pack pickle recipe into a fermented pickle recipe because fermentation works to preserve with lactic acid while 'pickling' uses vinegar (acetic acid) to preserve.

That said, yes fermented pickles may be processed for shelf storage after the fermentation is completed. If I recall correctly the instructions are in the book but if not then NCHFP provides the processing instructions adjusted for altitude - 10 min for pints and 15 min for quarts in BWB.

Tell us which specific Ziedrich recipe you are using or want to make so we can give you specific details, ok?

Dave