Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kgardeninma

intro and a few quick questions

kgardeninma
16 years ago

Hello!

I happened on this board while searching the net for gardening and canning information. I have been very busy reading all the wonderful information posted here - thank you so much :) I am a beginner gardener and canner and I just was curious about a few things:

-Is there anyone here in the NE - specifically coastal RI or MA? I'd love to find someone in my area since I don't know anyone else who gardens or cans. All my friends think I'm nuts - first for having a huge vegetable garden and mostly for canning/freezing the results.

-for those of you who are canning/freezing vegetables, are these veggies that you have grown yourself or are you buying these at farm stands or stores?

Last year I grew and canned tomatoes (just a basic puree, no seasoning as it was my first time and I was afraid to kill my family!) as well as pickled hot peppers and pickled green tomatoes. I'd like to be more adventurous this year and can sauce and salsa (I've been reading lots of threads on both). I used a hand-cranked tomato "mill" that had a hopper on top and removed seeds and peels. This was a messy and time consuming task though. It also produced a puree with no "chunks", so it wouldn't be good for salsa. I read a couple of threads on the Kitchen Aid mixer attachments (food grinder and fruit/veg strainer). The only thing I can't discern is whether they removed peels and/or seeds or just grind it all up and also how fine they grind tomatoes specifically. I have a mixer already, so I thought it would be my least expensive option.

Thanks so much for taking a minute to read this :) (and hopefully for responding!)

Comments (25)

• dgkritch
    16 years ago

Welcome!!

Sorry, I'm not NE, I'm in Oregon, but there are several here in your region.

We ARE all nuts, that's why we frequent this forum!! LOL.