Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
halfpintharvest

Using One-Piece Lug Lids

halfpintharvest
16 years ago

I've been canning for a couple years with two-piece lids, and want to make the leap to one-piece lids so I can sell at the farmers markets with a better presentation. I've read the threads about using one-piece lids for high-acid canning (jams, jellies, etc.), but I can't find anywhere that explains...

1) Can you water-bath the "lug" type lids -- or only the twist-on one-piece lids?

2) When you do water bath a one-piece lid, how tight do you twist the lid?

3) Does the air "vent" out of the jar when you use a one-piece lid? If so, how?

Finally, does anyone invert the one-piece lidded jars instead of water-bathing them? (Yes, I know it's not recommended anymore, but it would sure save time!)

Thanks for your advice!

Comments (13)

• halfpintharvest
    Original Author
    16 years ago

By the way, I'm looking to buy jars and lids from Fillmore Containers (see link below). Has anyone bought from them? Which items do you buy and have you had a good experience?

Thanks again!

Here is a link that might be useful: Fillmore Containers -- jars and lids

• dancinglemons
    16 years ago

halfpintharvest,

Please do not invert unless you are going to store those items in the fridge! Please!! Inverting can cause problems with the safety of your canned items. Bacteria and/or Botulism may never show up but once - once is enough. Please do not do this.

DL

• bejay9_10
    16 years ago

I just read the link that was provided for Fillmore Containers.

I've been interested in finding ways to preserve my fruit juices in glass bottles. According to their web site, they do have a bottle - a 12 oz. type, that would be fine for my use. The number is A12-04w.

But when it comes to finding the appropriate cap, that is where my curiosity/questions begin.