Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alitn

Electric Pressure Cookers - Canning Setting

alitn
13 years ago

Hi everyone. I am fairly new to canning. I canned peaches, applesauce, salsa, and jam last summer. I am considering canning green beans this summer.

I do not yet have a pressure canner. In a discussion with some friends on Facebook, my friend mentioned that her parents just purchased a new electric pressure cooker that had a setting specifically for canning. Does anyone know anything about these appliances? I am having a hard time finding any info on the internet about whether or not the electric pressure cookers can be used for canning. I do know that typical pressure cookers cannot be used for canning, but I did not know about these new appliances with the canning setting.

Thanks!

Comments (10)

• Linda_Lou
    13 years ago

It would need to be able to hold at least 4 quart sized jars in order to be a pressure canner. Then, I am not sure how you vent those out. Plus, I don't know how many pounds of pressure they operate at.
    Then, the time it takes for a canner to get up to pressure and the time for it to get back to zero pounds is all part of the safe processing time. I have no idea how long one of the electric ones would take.
    Too many unanswered questions for me to recommend one for canning.

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

Several companies have come out with electric pressure cookers lately (sampling linked below) and I have reviewed many of them from Cuisinart, Nesco, Deni, Fagor, and Wolfgang Puck.