Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joybugaloo

What Have You Put Up 2009

joybugaloo
15 years ago

WOW! Can it be that I am the first to start this thread? It seems like it should be Annie or Gabby or Carol or Linda Lou or another Harvest Forum celeb! Oh well, I will humbly do the deed myself.

So I am a college professor on winter break, and I got the canning bug this weekend. Ordinarily, one might choose something seasonally appropriate, something citrus-based perhaps. But I made WAY too much marmalade last year!

Then the inspiration hit me. I was making nachos, and I was out of pickled jalapenos. Instead of buying another jar, I decided to make my own jalapeno escabeche! It's going to take a month to fully pickle, but the few nibbles I tasted (so that my jars wouldn't too full!) were delicious! This will be a great recipe to have next summer when I have hot peppers coming out of my ears. Here's a pic:

From Jan'09

Here is a link that might be useful: Lindsey's Luscious

Comments (87)

• dgkritch
    15 years ago

I made 7 half pints and 2 quarter pints of Jalapeno Jelly last weekend. All "store-bought" stuff unfortunately, but I was OUT!!! LOL
    Deanna

• andreaz6wv
    15 years ago

Hi,

I've decided to keep track of what I can/put up this year.
    So far I have done:

(4) 1/2 pints of blueberry syrup
    (1) pint of blueberry syrup
    (3) 1/2 pints of chocolate raspberry syrup
    (2) pints chocolate raspberry syrup

I used berryies in the freezer from over the summer. I was worried about liking the chocolate raspberry sauce, but it's pretty good.

Andrea

• flora_uk
    15 years ago

Well January is Seville orange season so I have been making marmalade. I've done 5 kilos and have the same amount again prepared and ready to boil up when I get the time. We have 4 jars left from last January so I must be getting the quantities about right.