Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
davidrt28

using a canner for pot-in-pot cooking

davidrt28 (zone 7)
11 years ago

Hello Harvesters. I'm a noob...forgive me if I missed something in the archives, but I did spend a few minutes searching them.

Just started using a small Presto pressure cooker someone gave me as a gift a few years ago. I like certain things it can do with it but I don't want to eat any food out of it because it's an Aluminum (Al) model. The one time I tried to make white rice in it I could definitely taste the aluminum.
Then I saw this: http://fastcooking.ca/pressure_cookers/how_to_cook_rice_in_a_pressure_cooker.php
And tried the "pot-in-pot" method with the stainless steel inner pot from my rice cooker. That was hard enough to find; many are teflon non-stick. That is believed to have health concerns too. I have the smaller Tatung model, and it's fine for white rice, but Lundberg Wehani actually cooks much better in the pressure cooker. I use a bent aluminum bar about 1/2" wide as a trivet in the bottom of the pressure cooker, and put the SS inner pot above that. One slight change is I covered the rice pot in Al foil; the lid it comes with probably isn't suitable for such high temps - it's only for covering the rice after it is cooked. I was a bit worried that water from the bottom might splash up into the rice because the clearance is very close, but that's probably not going to happen.